Skip to content
April 5, 2010 / HandsOnCorps

Great Work Coming Out Of Chicago Cares! Show Your Support

Regan Bertke, HandsOn VISTA at Chicago Cares, sent me this email detailing her experiences so far as an AmeriCorps VISTA and also shared with me this amazing 17th Annual Chicago Cares Serve-a-thon coming up in June. There are ways that YOU can help volunteers in Chicago! Elliott Dionisio and Erin Sutton also serve as HandsOn VISTAs at Chicago Cares. Show your support! Read Regan’s personal message after the jump:

Hello Everyone!
As most of you know I am currently working as an AmeriCorps member serving with an organization in Chicago and completing a year of service. I am six months into the job and am enjoying every moment of it. Although it takes up much of my time, I am learning and experiencing things that no other position could have offered me. I am so great-full to not only have the job, but to be working for an organization I believe whole heartily in.
So, what have I been doing? LOTS! As part of my service term I am writing the monthly news letter, recruiting volunteer leaders, and facilitating trainings and appreciation events. It is truly wonderful to be working in such a capacity where I get to wear different hats and complete a plethora of different jobs. It so far been a constant learning experience for me.
As part of my year of service with Chicago Cares I am participating in the 17th Annual Serve-a-thon event held on June 12, 2010. This event is the largest fundraiser for Chicago Cares. Over 6,000 volunteers will rally together at Soldier Field for the opening ceremony, then get bused to one of 42 sites around the city. The event will work solely with Chicago Public Schools to better the learning environment of so many Chicago youth. The money raised will aid our organization in providing quality and meaningful volunteer opportunities all year round. Chicago Cares (CCI) develops and manages over 200 monthly programs that serves 8 different issue areas around Chicago. CCI is the largest non profit offering volunteering opportunities in Chicago and this event is the cities largest day of service. If you would like more information you can read my Save-the-date article in this months newsletter. (The April newsletter will be published 04/07/2010.)
Want to help me make a difference in this great city? You can help me reach my goal by supporting me and Chicago Cares. Visit my donation page and sponsor me! Your contribution will go to help seniors, children, people living with disabilities, and so many more; and will help make a brighter future for so many Chicagoans. I have included, below, a fact sheet so you can see just what your contribution can do to help those who are under resourced.
83 cents of every dollar donated goes directly to programs!

  • $150 buys all the plants and seeds needed for one community garden for an entire year
  • $150 provides supplies for a Homework Help tutoring program for a full school year
  • $150 provides 75 low-income seniors with a hot and nutritious breakfast
  • $150 provides the ingredients for dinner as 50 homeless teenagers learn how to cook a healthy meal
  • $150 buys enough paint to transform an afterschool program space into a bright learning environment
  • $150 provides workbooks for 21 adults at our computer literacy project

  • http://chicagocares.kintera.org/serve-a-thon2010/regancares
    – link to my donation page (if hyperlink above does not work)
    Thanks All!
    Regan B.
    rbertke@chicagocares.org
    Leave a Reply

